Select Page
A biology student inspecting the body’s bones
School of Arts & Sciences
Chandra Mountain, Ph.D.
Welcome to the School of Arts & Sciences

Welcome to the School of Arts and Sciences, the intellectual heart of 񱦵 and the university’s largest and most diverse School. We offer a variety of academic choices and multiple opportunities for success. As the academic core of Oakwood, the School of Arts and Sciences fosters educational excellence, intellectual inquiry, discovery and unmatched access through our unique collection of programs in the natural sciences, social sciences and humanities.

With over six hundred select students majoring and minoring in the arts and sciences, and award winning faculty in seven academic departments, the college brims with intellectual and creative energy.

From a first year student’s first days all the way through to graduation, the arts and sciences offer plenty to engage the curious, active mind. Classes, research, study abroad, visiting scholars, artists and performances, internships, experiments for kids, service to the community—there is always an exciting opportunity, project, or event. We believe strongly in the University motto of “entering to learn and departing to serve,” and we are in a unique position to fulfill that for the Oakwood student. Join us and start your journey today!

– DEAN, Chandra Tyler Mountain, PhD



The 񱦵 Annual Fund Campaign supports the basics for our students. From student aid to academic department support, your gift makes a difference for the future of Oakwood. Don’t delay— make your gift today! Make a secure gift online at: www.񱦵giving.com, or call us at: 256-726-7201, to speak to a development associate.

Distinguished Alumni

Ronald Brisé graduated from Oakwood College with a Bachelor of Science degree in Biology Education in 1999. He then went on to earn two MBA degrees in Marketing and Management from American Intercontinental University. Brisé serves as a Commissioner for the Florida Public Service Commission. Previously, he served as Florida State Representative of District 108.